Its Teachers’ Day

Today, its September 5. Its special. Its “Teacher’s Day”. Teachers are those who are licensed to directly influence our thinking.

Its so funny, sometimes, students might not like some teachers while they were at school. But, after they pass out, the same students who disliked their teacher become the most dearest to them.

When we started initially, we had a single teacher who lead the entire class. A single teacher took all the subjects. As we moved further, there used to different teacher for Core subjects, languages.

By the way, this is first thing, our parents taught us.

ಗುರುರ್ಬ್ರಹ್ಮ ಗುರುರ್ವಿಷ್ಣುಃ ಗುರುರ್ದೇವೋ ಮಹೇಶ್ವರಃ |
ಗುರುಃಸಾಕ್ಷಾತ್ ಪರಬ್ರಹ್ಮ ತಸ್ಮೈ ಶ್ರೀಗುರವೇ ನಮಃ ||

“Guru (= Learned, Teacher) is Brahma, Guru is Vishnu, Guru is Maheshwara, Guru is above all gods. I salute that Guru”.

* Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwara are three Gods.

Usually, Parents teach their children this poem when their babies start faltering. ಮುದ್ದುಮುದ್ದಾದ ತೊದಲು ಮಾತು ಮೊದಲಾದಾಗಲೇ ಈ ಪದ್ಯ ಕಲಿಸುತ್ತಾರೆ. So, when we join school, already we would have been “educated” to respect our teachers.

In school, I was taught another poem which is as follows.

ತ್ವಮೇವ ಮಾತಾಚ ಪಿತಾ ತ್ವಮೇವ – You are my father, you are my mother
ತ್ವಮೇವ ಬಂಧುಶ್ಚ ಸಖಾ ತ್ವಮೇವ – You are my relative, you are my friend
ತ್ವಮೇವ ವಿದ್ಯಾದ್ರವಿಣಂ ತ್ಮಮೇವ – You are my knowledge, you are my wealth
ತ್ವಮೇವ ಸರ್ವಂ ಮಮ ದೇವ ದೇವ – Oh Lord ! Oh Lord ! You are eveything to me.

While at school, i was fortunate to learn to so many good prayers.

One of them was Rabindranath Tagore’s —
“Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high”.
“ಸ್ವಾಮಿ ದೇವನೆ ಲೋಕ ಪಾಲನೆ”.
“ದೇವಿ ಭುನ ಮನಮೋಹಿನೀ”.
“ಯಂ ಬ್ರಹ್ಮ ವರುಣೇಂದ್ರ ರುದ್ರ ಮರುತಃ”
many more….

ಮುಂದೆ ಗುರಿಯರಲು, ಹಿಂದೆ ಗುರುವಿರಲು, ನಡೆ ಮುಂದೆ ನಡೆ ಮುಂದೆ, ನುಗ್ಗಿ ನಡೆ ಮುಂದೆ. ಹಿಗ್ಗದೆಯೆ ಕುಗ್ಗದೆಯೆ ನುಗ್ಗಿ ನಡೆ ಮುಂದೆ.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its Teachers’ Day

  1. Rammi says:

    This is my first write up and it seems so much appropriate and meaningful to be starting on the Teacher’s Day.

    The first day I was left crying at school by my mother, a demure looking lady took my hand and led me through other frightful faces. I guess, the very touch and warmth re-assured me that I didn’t have to miss my mother for the next 3 hours I had to spend there. Yes, she was my first teacher, Veda. Her willingness to take in any child as her own and comfort them made her so much more lovable and likable.

    She was the one who never beat up any child however cross and stubborn one would get(as far as i can recollect). Not that she just pleased the children around and did nothing. She was the best of the whole lot. She taught us the letters, narrated wonderful stories to us, mimed the animals, made us chuckle and laugh, she was putting her best efforts to make up for what we were supposed to miss(our home and our parents). Not to forget the biscuits and milk she fed us from her hands.

    This day i am standing somewhere in life, with a whole lot of opportunities ahead of me and its all because of this one lady who laid the foundations for my life, even before i knew anything about it. This day I wish to salute her and dedicate all my learning’s to her.

    She was followed by other great minds who spent their precious time in helping me absorb some Gyan so I stood up for what I wished to.

    I still remember a simple yet very meaningful prayer taught by our High School English Teacher(Chandrika), she literally taught us the ABC of English. It goes as follows:

    ” Others Lord, Bless Others
    Let this my Motto be
    Help me to Live for Others
    So that I may Live for Thee ”

    In simple terms, its about asking the Almighty to bless everyone around me and help me serve the ones who are in need. By living for others I would in turn live for the Almighty himself.

    Its a wonderful feeling to recollect loads of such magical memories and celebrate the life ahead of me.

    Thanks & Regards,
    Rammi

  2. Pingback: Gift to teacher « Jinnu's Blog

Leave a Reply

